This document will introduce you to the operation and maintenance of our CRM Advanced List Sync.  We encourage you to read through this document completely as it contains only very relevant information about what to expect and how to properly care for your synced data.  This information has been formatted to be (hopefully) useful to both IT personnel and end users of HubSpot or CRM.


Please review the following points regarding the operation and proper usage of this tool, and review the User Stories table afterward to understand how and when changes will occur:

  1. We normally schedule the List Sync to operate every 15 minutes.  This means that after you set a CRM Marketing List to Sync to HubSpot, it will begin processing that List within 15 minutes after you have triggered it.  However, for especially large Lists or complex systems, it may take much longer than 15 minutes to complete sync.  For some systems, we may recommend scheduling on 30-minute or 60-minute increments to avoid putting too much pressure on each system's services.
  2. The List Sync will only copy from CRM and to HubSpot.  We do copy tracking data to CRM Marketing Lists, but this integration piece does not attempt to sync any changes from HubSpot Lists back to CRM.  It will not reflect changes made to a HubSpot List or its members, and we do not recommend making any changes to a HubSpot List directly in HubSpot if it is being synced from a CRM Marketing List.
  3. Whether a CRM List is "Dynamic" or "Static", it will only ever create and match to a HubSpot Static List.  This is by design so that we can control the HubSpot List members through our own logic to match what CRM has as closely as possible.
  4. When we sync to a HubSpot List, we update the name of the List to match CRM and also add a special tracking suffix, similar to "{{CRM-Static}}".
  5. Again, please do not make any changes directly to a HubSpot List that is being synced from CRM, including adding or removing Members, or changing any part of the name of the HubSpot List.  Otherwise, results may become erratic.  You may freely use that HubSpot List to send out emails or other bulk tasks.
  6. If you delete or deactivate a CRM List that previously synced to HubSpot, the HubSpot name suffix will be updated to reflect this.
  7. Note that if you delete a HubSpot List, while the matching CRM Marketing List is still set to Sync to HubSpot, a new HubSpot List will be created and populated.  You will also need to disable this setting on the CRM List if you want sync for a given List to completely cease.
  8. This sync will create new HubSpot Contacts in order to make sure the list is completely filled out in HubSpot, in case they do not yet exist.  However, these HS Contacts will have only minimal data in them until your "regular" integration copies their data up to HubSpot afterward, as per your normal mappings.  So, there may be times where a HubSpot Contact is created by the integration but does not have all of its data yet.
  9. As always, HubSpot requires a valid email address to create a new Contact, so if any CRM Leads or Contacts do satisfy this requirement, they will not create a matching HubSpot Contact, and the number of members for a given List will not match across systems.
  10. Likewise, if you have multiple CRM Leads or Contacts with the same email address, only one HubSpot Contact can be created, so again List member numbers may not match in this case.
  11. Finally, note that is integration piece is separate from your "regular" CRM <=> HubSpot sync, or any other integration pieces you have set up.  It does not by default follow the same restrictions as what you may have set up during your regular sync, so in some cases, it may create a new HubSpot Contact in order to completely sync the List, but that Contact may not have been otherwise desired to sync.  It will be up to you as the customer to avoid adding undesired members to a given CRM Marketing List if it is intended to be synced to HubSpot.


User Stories:

Action:

Result:

Create a new CRM List and set to Sync to HubSpot

A new HubSpot List is created, with a suffix appended of {{CRM-Static}} or {{CRM-Dynamic}}

Rename a CRM List that was already set to Sync to HubSpot

The HubSpot List name is updated to match CRM

Delete a CRM List that had been previously Synced to HubSpot

The HubSpot List name suffix is changed to {{CRM-Deleted}}

Deactivate a CRM List that had been previously Synced to HubSpot

The HubSpot List name suffix is changed to {{CRM-Inactive}}

Add a Lead or Contact to a synced CRM List

If no matching HubSpot Contact exists and the CRM record's Email address is valid, a new HubSpot Contact is created and added to the HubSpot List.  If a matching HubSpot Contact already exists, it is simply added to the HubSpot List

Remove a Lead or Contact from a synced CRM List

If a match is found to the HubSpot List and HubSpot Contact, that Contact is removed from the HubSpot List

Change the email address, name, etc. on a synced CRM Lead or Contact for a given synced HubSpot List

Not handled by the List Sync process (the corresponding HubSpot Contact remains associated with the List.  The List Sync does not update the HubSpot Contact’s data; this would be left for other sync operations to handle)


As always, if you have any further questions, please don't hesitate to contact your LyntonWeb representative!